About

/About
About 2017-09-11T22:38:13+00:00

Kohimarama Yacht Club is a youth yacht club dedicated to introducing young people to sailing, and training them to love and excel at the sport.

We have a fantastic clubhouse on the water at Tamaki Drive, Kohimarama and a boat shed at nearby Madills Farm. The boat shed houses our fleet of 18 inflatable patrol boats. In addition we have our outer course start boat Marama moored at the Outboard Boating Club.

The club has approximately 100 member families with about 120 boats sailing on a full club day.

Like many clubs, we are a voluntary organisation run by generous people who willingly donate their time and effort.

If you have any questions or comments please email us on info@kyc.org.nz

Thank you for your interest in the Kohimarama Yacht Club.


 

2017/18 Committee

The committee, elected at the club AGM, is chaired by the commodore and is responsible for the overall operation and management of the club activities, the buildings, boats and other assets of the club.

The committee’s objective is to provide an enjoyable family environment in which young sailors can develop a passion for the sport, and go on to be competitive sports people.

The club must work within a budget which is restricted by our income. Revenue is generated by member subscriptions, sponsorship and grants. KYC is very fortunate to have the support of Barfoot & Thompson as our main sponsor.


Flag Officers and Committee

PositionNameEmailPhone
PatronTom Schnackenberg
PresidentJason Morganjmorgan@strategis.co.nz
CommodoreDan Aldersondanalderson5@gmail.com021 728440
Vice Commodore Andy Kensingtonandy@pde.co.nz021 842 639
Rear Commodore Wayne Anguswayneangus1@gmail.com021 421 726
SecretaryJeremy Davidsonteam.davidson@rubbertrack.co.nz021 952800
TreasurerMichael Rosskaren.michael@ihug.co.nz021 72178
Club CaptainRoss Hume sales@osbournes.co.nz027 527 0069

Fleet Captains

PositionNameEmailPhone
Learn to SailLuke Jenkinslukejenkins@icloud.com027 644 6755
Learn to Race David Duffduffy@doylesails.co.nz021 969 110
Green Andy Stoneandystone485@gmail.com
Optimist Div 2Andy Kensingtonandy@pde.co.nz021 842 639
Optimist Div 1Jon Bilgerjonbilger@predictwind.com027 211 3111
P ClassAdam Winteradamwinter@xtra.co.nz021 635 352
StarlingJeremy Davidsonjeremy.davidson@rubbertrack.co.nz
29erRobert Andersonra3169@gmail.com

Other Positions

PositionName
Apparel OfficerJenefer Bilky
AYBA RepMarcelo Lardies
Boat ManagementRoss Hume
Building ManagementAndy Kensignton
Clubhouse CaptainClaudia Lardies
Club PhotographersClare Morgan
Marama CaptainGeoff Nathan
Galley CaptainMichael Shirley
HandbookMartin Keenan
NZIODA RepresentativeMark Shapland
Information Secretary/PR
LegalRoss O'Neill
Membership CommitteeDan Alderson
Jason Morgan
Prizes CommitteeJeremy Davidson
Regatta CommitteeJason Morgan
Richard Cave
Geoff Nathan
Results CaptainJacky Sun
Roster CaptainAndy Kensington
Health and Safety CommitteeMarcelo Lardies
Trust FundingWayne Angus
WebmasterJacky Sun
Social CommitteeJason Morgan
Alan McKenzie
Web DevelopmentLSD Media