About 2015-09-12T21:34:04+00:00

Kohimarama Yacht Club is a youth yacht club dedicated to introducing young people to sailing, and training them to love and excel at the sport.

We have a fantastic clubhouse on the water at Tamaki Drive, Kohimarama and a boat shed at nearby Madills Farm. The boat shed houses our fleet of 18 inflatable patrol boats. In addition we have our outer course start boat Marama moored at the Outboard Boating Club.

The club has approximately 100 member families with about 120 boats sailing on a full club day.

Like many clubs, we are a voluntary organisation run by generous people who willingly donate their time and effort.

If you have any questions or comments please email us on info@kyc.org.nz

Thank you for your interest in the Kohimarama Yacht Club.


2015/16 Committee

The committee, elected at the club AGM, is chaired by the commodore and is responsible for the overall operation and management of the club activities, the buildings, boats and other assets of the club.

The committee’s objective is to provide an enjoyable family environment in which young sailors can develop a passion for the sport, and go on to be competitive sports people.

The club must work within a budget which is restricted by our income. Revenue is generated by member subscriptions, sponsorship and grants. KYC is very fortunate to have the support of Winger Subaru as our main sponsor.

Flag Officers and Committee

PatronTom Schnackenberg
PresidentJason Morganjmorgan@strategis.co.nz021 622461
CommodorePeter Mortononabeach@xtra.co.nz027 3798797
Vice Commodore Dan Aldersondanalderson5@gmail.com021 728440
Rear CommodoreGeoff Nathangeoffn@trutest.co.nz021 645 799
SecretaryJeremy Davidsonteam.davidson@rubbertrack.co.nz021 952800
TreasurerMichael Rosskaren.michael@ihug.co.nz021 72178
Club CaptainWayne Anguswayneangus1@gmail.com021 997080

Fleet Captains

Learn to SailAndy Kensington
Learn to RaceJonathan Hodder
GreenLuke Jenkins
Optimist Div 2Matthew Morton
Optimist Div 1Mark Shapland
P ClassAdam Winter
StarlingKerry Strong
29erRobert Anderson
LaserRoss Simpson

Other Positions

Apparel OfficerJenefer Bilky
AYBA RepGeoff Dawson
Boat ManagementBruno Barrett-Garnier
Sam Lewis-Roberts
Geoff Nathan
Building ManagementPaul Wotton
Clubhouse CaptainClaudia Lardies
Club PhotographersMarin Matulovic
Clare Morgan
Marama CaptainGeoff Nathan
Galley CaptainMichael Shirley
Campbell Williamson
HandbookSarah Winter
NZIODA RepresentativeMark Shapland
Information Secretary/PRRoss O'Neill
LegalFraser Powrie
Ross O'Neill
Membership CommitteeJason Morgan
Prizes CommitteeDoug Milton
Regatta CommitteeJason Morgan
Richard Cave
Geoff Nathan
Bruno Barrett-Garnier
Results CaptainJacky Sun
Roster CaptainPeter Morton
Health and Safety CommitteeRichard Porter
Marcelo Lardies
Trust FundingJason Morgan
WebmasterJacky Sun
Social CommitteeJason Morgan
Alan McKenzie
Web DevelopmentLSD Media